Debt of Gratitude

I’ve finally finished this beast after 13 months of trying to make it happen. It began as the seed of an idea sloshing around in the back end of my head. I tentatively placed it down in a written form one evening in a room at the Hotel Angora, Rianxo whilst in Galicia shooting Darle Bicos O Mar during December days leading up to Christmas 2013. It was Martin Parr’s LCC talk that finally convinced me to turn it into a reality, shooting then began in May and ran until September. Post production ended 3 December 2014.
Without my team it would not have happened: Elena’s mandala painting, Maria’s organisation and co-ordination, Richard’s wizardry with Premiere Pro, Carlos’s dexterity at the mixing desk, Alfie creating subtle sound patterns, Hilmar for encouragement towards it’s realisation. And all of them together being able to cope with the vagaries of my instructions, as often I wasn’t that sure what I wanted to achieve.
The void has been embraced and is now owned by me.

In retrospect perhaps I ought to offer the biggest thanks of all to city of Birmingham?  It let me back in after I made the decision to take a risk. It may not have been easy but it’s certainly been worthwhile.

A project that began in the darkness has found it’s way into the light porque he dado luz a una cosa especial.

 

(On This Road) I Feel Like A Ghost – finished version from Shadows and Light on Vimeo.

5 thoughts on “Debt of Gratitude

  1. Just caught up with this! Had me on the edge of my (stationary) seat. And the still photos: the fact that each still photo was only in the film briefly made one look at them all the more intently.

    Do you know “Sometimes with One I Love” by Walt Whitman?

    Sometimes with one I love I fill myself with rage for fear I effuse unreturn’d love,
    But now I think there is no unreturn’d love, the pay is certain one way or another
    (I loved a certain person ardently and my love was not return’d,
    Yet out of that I have written these songs).

Leave a comment